What’s in your dash!!!

1945 –
1963 –
1998 –
2002 –
2013 –

What’s in your dash? What will your dash say about you? Does your dash have meaning? At some point in our lives we or someone we know will experience some type of loss. A Loss can be from a relationship, health, freedom, home, identity, job, and so forth. Losses can catch us off guard, unprepared, and change our lives forever. A loss can leave us broken, confused, distraught and angry. Perhaps the most beneficial outcome of a loss would be to use it as a tool for self-reflection, motivation, and inspiration.

I have endured a few losses in my life. Recently, I had the unfortunate task of dealing with loss; the death of one of my cousins. Like so many people, when I received the news of his untimely death I was shocked, saddened, and overwhelmed. For several days, I rode this emotional roller coaster and was even more pensive on the morning of his funeral so much that I dreaded preparing and getting dressed for it. I hoped and wished this day never came and would be over soon. While riding in the car, I remembered our last conversation and began to ponder about it. Unknowingly, I smiled when I reminisced about his humorous spirit, warm smile, and zest for life. A sense of peace, pride and joy came over me when I saw the vast number of people that came out to pay their respects on such a beautiful sunny summer day. During his funeral service, I was overwhelmed and comforted by every speaker that reflected on my cousin’s genuine kindness, helpfulness, and acts of service. It was during these reflections and speeches, that I was reminded of how great my cousin’s dash was and what a profound legacy he left.

Since his passing and funeral, I have been more reflective on my own life. With every action, task, act of service, interaction with others, etc. we are building our dash. Our dash holds memories of our actions, our being and how we lived our lives. Our dash will be the mirror that’s reflected upon to comfort, encourage, inspire and keep our memories alive. It goes without saying that I will greatly miss my cousin, aunt, grandfather and other relatives and friends that have passed away. However, I am consoled and can find peace with the great memories of their lives. In the midst of pain and sadness, I am inspired, encouraged and comforted by their dash! Therefore, daily I choose to cultivate, nourish, strengthen, live, expand, develop, extend and make my dash (life) count!

Da Write Chick
Copyright June 2013

15 thoughts on “What’s in your dash!!!

  1. Monique

    So sorry to hear of your loss. This is an awesome writing. Thank you sooo much for sharing. Trust and beleive your are building an amazing and inspiring dash.
    Peace & Blessings Always!

    Reply
  2. itsdanimax

    First off let me say, i’m sorry about your loss. I loved this post. it’s got me thinking about my dash, and what i need to do to make sure it counts. Thank you.

    Reply
  3. DebraKay

    Beautifully written. Its all about the dash. I love that you created a mantra to inspire us onward as we create something beautiful, something inpiring, for those we leave behind. The dash.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

